Volume 8 – September 19, 2004

IPB Volume 8 cover
  1. Easy Way Down – Snowpony [4:02]
  2. A Perfect Day Elise – PJ Harvey [2:55]
  3. 96 Tears – The Stranglers [3:04]
  4. Boogie-Woogie No. 5 – Puffy AmiYumi [4:09]
  5. Infinity Girl – Stereolab [3:56]
  6. mother russia – zero [2:57]
  7. Call Me Call Me – Yoko Kanno & The Seatbelts [4:43]
  8. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Ray Charles [4:14]
  9. Guns of Brixton – Nouvelle Vague [4:07]
  10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin’ – The Velvet Underground [7:24]
  11. Time/Breathe (Reprise) – Pink Floyd [7:05]
  12. Someday – The Real Tuesday Weld [1:39]

Liner Notes:

This episode would have been a “filler” set, in the sense that I was either very busy or feeling very uninspired, so I drew heavily from anime soundtracks (yes, even the Ray Charles; it was used to excellent effect in Rintaro’s Metropolis) and travel music that I was listening to in the years leading up to the show. Zero was a friend from online, and I have no idea if any of his music was ever released anywhere. I got my copy of “mother russia” from a mixtape project on a message board. “Guns of Brixton” has always been my go-to track for introducing Nouvelle Vague to new listeners in contexts where I can’t play their cover of “Too Drunk To Fuck.”

The photo used for this cover is my ex’s pet rat Fiona hanging out inside the kangaroo pocket of my hoodie.