Volume 18 – January 30, 2005

IPB Volume 19 cover
  1. Yumeji’s Theme (Extended Version) – Shigeru Umebayashi [3:01]
  2. A Kite of Night – Shugo Tokumaru [2:21]
  3. Brigitte – Brigitte Fontaine [2:12]
  4. Future Proof – Massive Attack [5:43]
  5. Aus Heiterem Himmel – Barbara Morgenstern [4:25]
  6. Quest – Noon [5:40]
  7. Wayfarer – Kayo Dot [10:43]
  8. Blackout – UNKLE [6:51]
  9. Jaka ja Kayah – Kayan [4:54]
  10. Andy Warhol Is Dead But We Still Have Hope – kid606 [1:16]

Liner Notes:

First off, I can’t believe I managed to sneak kid606 on the air multiple times but all the Massive Attack I ever managed to play was from that dub remix album and 100th Window of all things (the weakest two releases of their career). This is definitely another mellow-for-the-sake-of-mellow set, but it opens with “Yumeji’s Theme,” one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever composed for film, and composed for Wong Kar-wai’s In the Mood for Love, the most beautiful film ever made. No set list that starts off like that can be bad. Shugo Tokumaru is pretty interesting; “A Kite of Night” is from his debut bedroom-pop album, Night Piece, and was originally intended as a US-only release, despite him being from and living in Tokyo. Brigitte Fontaine is an avant-garde singer associated with a lot of acts in my library, include Stereolab, Gotan Project, and Noir Désir. Kayah is a Polish pop singer, and “Jaka ja Kayah” is the title track of her fourth album.

The photo for this cover is the sign pointing to the food court area of the Davis Centre for Computer research on the University of Waterloo campus, where friends and I would eat regular during my undergraduate years.